AUS vs SL: Australia team announced for T20I series against Sri Lanka, Warner rested

- Advertisement -

Opener David Warner and all-rounder Mitchell Marsh have been rested for the five-match T20I series against Sri Lanka to be held next month to prepare for the upcoming tour of Pakistan. Cricket Australia (CA) gave this information on Tuesday.

The 16-man squad for the T20I series against Sri Lanka consists of five Ashes players – Pat Cummins, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood. Australia beat England 4-0 in the Ashes series. Hobart Hurricanes batsman Ben McDermott has also been included in the Australian T20 squad.

The chairman of Cricket Australia’s national selection panel said, “The team will begin preparations to defend the ICC T20 World Cup title at home later this year and include a number of players who have had an impact in these five matches against strong opposition.” It’s a great opportunity to do it.”

All 5 matches of the T20I series against Sri Lanka will be played from February 11 to 20 in Sydney, Canberra and Melbourne. Australia will then play three Tests, three ODIs and one T20I match in Pakistan from March 3.

Australia squad for T20I series against Sri Lanka: Aaron Finch, Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Josh Inglis, Ben McDermott, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

- Advertisement -