Big decision of Modi government, Shaktikanta Das appointed RBI governor again for three more years

- Advertisement -

The Modi government has reappointed Shaktikanta Das as the Governor of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) for three more years. The reappointment will be effective from December 10 or till further orders, whichever is earlier. “The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has approved the re-appointment of Shaktikanta Das as Governor of Reserve Bank of India for a further period of three years with effect from December 10, 2021 or until further orders, whichever is earlier,” an official statement said. Permission has been granted.”

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet approved this decision late on Thursday night. Das was previously the Economic Affairs Secretary in the Ministry of Finance and was appointed as the head of the central bank on December 11, 2018 for a period of three years. Shaktikanta Das has vast experience in various fields and has worked in Finance, Taxation, Industry He has held important positions in the Central and State Governments in the areas of infrastructure, etc. He is a post graduate from St. Stephen’s College, University of Delhi.


During his long stint in the Ministry of Finance, Government of India, he was directly involved in 8 Central Budget involved in the preparation. Das has also served as the alternate governor of India at the World Bank, the Asian Development Bank (ADB), the New Development Bank (NDB) and the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB). He has represented India in international forums like IMF, G20, BRICS, SAARC, etc.

List of Governors of RBI so far

  • Sir Osborne Smith
  • Sir James Taylor
  • Sir C D Deshmukh
  • Sir Benegal Rama Raus
  • K G Ambegaonkar
  • H V R Iyengaro
  • PC Bhattacharya
  • L K Jha
  • B N Adkari
  • S Jagannathan
  • N C Sen Gupta
  • KR Puri
  • M Narasimham
  • Dr. I G Patel
  • Dr. Manmohan Singh
  • A Ghosh
  • R N Malhotra
  • S Venkataramanan
  • Dr. C Rangarajan
  • Dr. Bimal Jalan
  • Dr Y V Reddy
  • Dr. D. Subbarao
  • Dr. Raghuram Rajni
  • Dr. Urjit R. Patel
  • Shaktikanta Das


Source link

- Advertisement -